Do Any of The Five Rasas Exist in Vaikuntha?

When the object of focus (visaya) of those in santa-rasa is on Brahman or Paramatma, it is said to be of medium intensity.

“It is the nature of śānta-rasa that not even the smallest intimacy exists. Rather, knowledge of impersonal Brahman and localized Paramātmā is prominent.” [Śrī Caitanya-caritāmṛta / Madhya-līlā / 19.218]

However, when that intensity “thickens”, the object of focus transfers to the personal form of the Lord, Sri Narayana. In the realm of Vaikuntha, which is filled with the mood of awe and reverence, santa-rasa (neutrality) is prevalent.

“Examples of santa-bhaktas, or devotees in the neutral stage, are the sages known as the nine Yogendras, namely Kavi, Havi, Antariksa, Prabuddha, Pippalayana, Avirhotra, Dravida (Drumila), Camasa and Karabhajana. The four Kumaras (Sanaka, Sanandana, Sanat-kumara and Sanatana) are also examples of this stage.” [TLC 1: Teachings to Rupa Gosvami]

In addition to this rasa, dasya-rasa, and half of sakhya-rasa are also found there (Vaikuntha); the total is two-and-a-half rasas.

Above santa-rasa, the Lord is worshipped in dasya-rasa (servitorship).

“Examples of devotees in the second stage, servitorship, […] in the Vaikuntha planets there are Hanuman and others.” [TLC 1: Teachings to Rupa Gosvami] [Note: this is in reference to Ayodhya-Vaikuntha.]

When dasya-rasa is mixed with awe and veneration, the visaya, is an expansion or incarnation of the Personality of Godhead. However, when dasya-rasa is pure (unadulterated by awe and veneration), the visaya is Krishna. The difference in service is that one is performed in accordance to rules and regulations (vaidhi-bhakti), and the other is performed with spontaneous devotional attachment (raganuga-bhakti).

Above dasya-rasa is sakhya-rasa (friendship)

However, the sakhya-rasa found in Vaikuntha, “gaurava-sakhya”, is considered the lower portion of sakhya-rasa. Visrambha-sakhya, the upper portion is not found there, but rather, it is found in the Goloka Vrindavana planet. When sakhya is mixed with awe and veneration, it is called gaurava-sakhya.

An example of gaurava-sakhya, friendship mixed with awe and veneration, is Arjuna when he witnessed the visva-rupa form of the Lord:

In this mood, Arjuna says to Lord Krsna:

“Thinking of You as my friend, I have rashly addressed You “O Krsna,” “O Yadava,” “O my friend,” not knowing Your glories. Please forgive whatever I may have done in madness or in love. I have dishonored You many times, jesting as we relaxed, lay on the same bed, or sat or ate together, sometimes alone and sometimes in front of many friends. O infallible one, please excuse me for all those offenses.” [Bg 11.41, Bg 11.42, Bg 11.41-42

Visrambha-sakhya-rasa is enjoyed by the cowherd boys. It, along with vatsalya-rasa (parental affection), and madhurya-rasa (conjugal love), are found in the raga-marga relationships of Vrndavana.
Hare Krishna.

Yours in service,
Bhava dasa (ACBSP) (admin)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests